Skip to main content
Insurance Company SEC EDGAR Filing Roadshow Hub: Mid-Atlantic / DC Metro HQ: Glen Allen, VA

Markel Group General Account

$31.0B Total AUM · Institutional LP profile covering 26 historical fund disclosure records ($1.17B parsed USD across disclosed rows) across disclosed strategy exposure in Buyout, Private Credit, Venture Capital, Private Equity, Growth Equity (investment geography mandates are evaluated separately from LP headquarters). 5 complete primary source trails are open below without registration.

Test Suitability Demo
Disclosed Records
26
5 Open Source Trails Below
Sum of Disclosed Rows
$1.17B
Total AUM: $31.0B
Median Disclosed Amount
$49.2M
Range: $10.0M – $85.6M
Disclosed Fund Multiples
13.3% Mean IRR (n=19) · 1.60x Mean TVPI (n=19)
Unweighted mean of disclosed funds (not portfolio return · As-of 2025)

Historical Fund Disclosures — Markel Group General Account

5 Open Source Trails (No Registration)

Showing 5 open preview records out of 26 total tracked records (+21 gated pilot rows). Click Inspect Source on any row to view field-level substantiation, table headers/units, and archived page excerpts without login.

Disclosed Fund / Vehicle Strategy Fund Vintage Disclosed Amount Disclosed Performance Primary Source Trail
Charlesbank Technology Opportunities Fund II Buyout 2025
$85.6M
Historical commitment · As of December 2025
Active 2025–2026 Drawdown · J-Curve / Initial Deployment Period Inspect Source · SEC EDGAR Filing
Lake Cascade Fund, L.P. Private Credit 2025
$80.4M
Historical commitment · As of December 2025
Active 2025–2026 Drawdown · J-Curve / Initial Deployment Period Inspect Source · SEC EDGAR Filing
SV Biotech Crossover Opportunities Fund, L.P. Buyout 2025
$70.7M
Historical commitment · As of December 2025
Active 2025–2026 Drawdown · J-Curve / Initial Deployment Period Inspect Source · SEC EDGAR Filing
General Atlantic Partners (Growth) 2021 Growth Equity 2025
$70.7M
Historical commitment · As of December 2025
Active 2025–2026 Drawdown · J-Curve / Initial Deployment Period Inspect Source · SEC EDGAR Filing
BVP Forge Institutional L.P. Private Equity 2023
$55.5M
Historical commitment · As of December 2025
Not Yet Page-Verified · Multiples Not Disclosed Inspect Source · SEC EDGAR Filing

Forward-Looking Searches, Pacing Plans & Governance Updates — Markel Group General Account

Tracked separately from historical commitments: active RFPs/searches, board pacing plans, leadership/CIO updates, and retained gatekeeper consultants.

Allocation-Policy / Pacing Update

Markel Group General Account (Insurance Company, $31.0B AUM): Disclosed FY2025-2026 Private Markets Pacing & Allocation Update (PE Target 7.5% vs. 7.5% Actual; $-15.5M Unallocated Target Bandwidth). NAIC Schedule BA (NAIC Group 0785) General Account ($31.0B total invested assets; ~$2.3B Schedule BA Alternative LP allocation) deploying $10M-$60M checks into Capital-Efficient Private Credit, Mid-Market Buyout, Infrastructure & Real Estate. Gatekeeper / Intake Conduit: Mercer Alternatives.

Forward-looking board pacing or target-allocation policy update · Recorded 2025-05-08

Join Waitlist for Full Signal Log →
Pacing & Allocation Policy Pilot Gated

Board-Approved Pacing Plans, Active RFPs & Target-vs-Actual Allocation Gap

Join waitlist for pacing dossier →

Gatekeeper Consultants (1) Pilot Gated

Retained Private Markets Advisors & Emerging-Manager Search Conduits

Join waitlist for consultant map →

Investment Team Contacts (4) Pilot Gated

CIO, Private Markets Officers & Official Pitch Intake Guidance

Join waitlist for team directory →

Shared-Fund Co-Investor Overlap & Potential Introduction Paths — Markel Group General Account

444 Shared-Fund Co-LPs

Institutions disclosing the same resolved underlying fund vehicles as Markel Group General Account (26 shared vehicles tracked; showing top 3 bilateral overlaps).

Explore Paths in Interactive Demo
1. Shared Fund Exposure: Documented for both LPs
2. LPAC Seat Overlap: Not disclosed in filings
3. Personal Relationship: Unknown (customer-supplied)
4. Intro Willingness: Unconfirmed potential path
#1 Shared-Fund Peer 14 Shared Vehicles

Grantham Mayo Van Otterloo & Co

OCIO / Wealth RIA Boston, MA
Resolved Shared Vehicle Recent Fund Cycle (2020–2026)
BVP Forge Institutional L.P. (2023 Vintage)
Markel Group General Account: $55.5M · SEC EDGAR Filing
Grantham Mayo Van Otterloo & Co: $101.8M · SEC Form ADV 7.B

Additional shared vehicles: Bain Capital Credit Asia Fund IV (2023 Vintage) · Bain Capital Credit Distressed & Special Situations Fund IV (2023 Vintage)

Potential introduction path · LPAC unconfirmed View LP Profile →
#2 Shared-Fund Peer 14 Shared Vehicles

Waldron Private Wealth

Family Office / MFO Bridgeville, PA
Resolved Shared Vehicle Recent Fund Cycle (2020–2026)
Bain Capital Credit Asia Fund IV (2023 Vintage)
Markel Group General Account: $53.8M · SEC EDGAR Filing
Waldron Private Wealth: $10.2M · SEC Form ADV 7.B

Additional shared vehicles: BVP Forge Institutional L.P. (2023 Vintage) · Bain Capital Credit Distressed & Special Situations Fund IV (2023 Vintage)

Potential introduction path · LPAC unconfirmed View LP Profile →
#3 Shared-Fund Peer 13 Shared Vehicles

Comcast / NBCUniversal Pension Master Trust

Corporate Pension Plan Philadelphia, PA
Resolved Shared Vehicle Recent Fund Cycle (2020–2026)
Bain Capital Credit Distressed & Special Situations Fund IV (2023 Vintage)
Markel Group General Account: $49.2M · SEC EDGAR Filing
Comcast / NBCUniversal Pension Master Trust: $14.5M · SEC EDGAR Filing

Additional shared vehicles: BVP Forge Institutional L.P. (2023 Vintage) · Bain Capital Credit Asia Fund IV (2023 Vintage)

Potential introduction path · LPAC unconfirmed View LP Profile →

+441 Additional Institutional LPs Report Shared Vehicles with Markel Group General Account

Explore bilateral shared-fund paths in our Interactive Read-Only Demo or join the waitlist for full graph access.

Try Interactive Demo →
Pre-Launch Pilot Mode · Early-Access Waitlist

Request Pilot Access to Full Workspace Data for Markel Group General Account

You are viewing 5 open public preview records (out of 26 total tracked records for Markel Group General Account) with zero-registration primary source trails. Join the early-access waitlist to request pilot access:

  • All 26 tracked historical disclosure records (+21 gated rows) & field-level provenance
  • Bilateral Shared-Fund Co-Investor Graph (444 connected LPs)
  • Separated active searches, RFPs, approved FY2026 pacing plans & CIO governance updates
  • Retained gatekeeper consultants (1), investment contacts (4) & CRM export

Join the Early-Access Waitlist

Enter your firm email to request pilot onboarding for Markel Group General Account and our interactive GP workspace.

Strategies Disclosed by Markel Group General Account

Frequently Asked Questions: Markel Group General Account

What type of institutional allocator is Markel Group General Account and what is their typical disclosed ticket size?

Markel Group General Account is categorized under Insurance Company (Regional Roadshow Hub: Mid-Atlantic / DC Metro; Headquarters: Glen Allen, VA). Across 26 historical disclosure records tracked on Prilago ($1.17B total parsed USD across disclosed rows), the median disclosed amount is $49.2M (range: $10.0M to $85.6M).

Which private-market strategies appear in Markel Group General Account's public disclosures?

Markel Group General Account has disclosed records across Buyout, Private Credit, Venture Capital, Private Equity, Growth Equity. Open preview records include Charlesbank Technology Opportunities Fund II (2025 Vintage), Lake Cascade Fund, L.P. (2025 Vintage), SV Biotech Crossover Opportunities Fund, L.P. (2025 Vintage), General Atlantic Partners (Growth) 2021 (2025 Vintage).

How are Markel Group General Account's historical records substantiated and separated from active searches on Prilago?

Records for Markel Group General Account cite primary public disclosures (SEC EDGAR Filing), and visitors can inspect 5 open source trails on this profile without registration. Each source trail displays field-level substantiation status, distinguishing exact commitment schedules from carrying-value or fee tables. Forward-looking active searches, RFPs, pacing plans, and governance updates are separated from historical disclosures.

How can General Partners request pilot access to Markel Group General Account's full commitment history and contacts?

General Partners can join the early-access waitlist on https://prilago.com/lp/markel-group-general-account or test fund suitability in the interactive read-only demo at https://prilago.com/demo.

Which institutional LPs report shared underlying fund vehicles alongside Markel Group General Account?

In Prilago's bilateral commitment graph, Markel Group General Account shares resolved underlying fund vehicles with 444 institutional LPs across 26 shared vehicles (shared fund exposure represents a potential introduction path and does not prove LPAC seat overlap or personal acquaintance). Top shared-fund peers include Grantham Mayo Van Otterloo & Co (14 shared vehicles, e.g. BVP Forge Institutional L.P. (2023 Vintage)), Waldron Private Wealth (14 shared vehicles, e.g. Bain Capital Credit Asia Fund IV (2023 Vintage)), Comcast / NBCUniversal Pension Master Trust (13 shared vehicles, e.g. Bain Capital Credit Distressed & Special Situations Fund IV (2023 Vintage)).

Related Insurance Company & Mid-Atlantic / DC Metro Institutional LPs